Faculty of Urbanism and Architecture

The Faculty of Urbanism and Architecture (FUA), established in August 1972, is the main higher education institute in the Republic of Moldova dedicated to research and training in the field of architecture, urbanism and related services. There are 102 members of teaching staff, including 34 associate professors, PhDs., 5 Hab. PhD., professors.


Sergiu Bejan (Dean of the faculty)
Associate professor, Ph.D. in technical sciences

Tel: +373 22 77-44-11
E-mail: sergiu.bejan@fua.utm.mddecanat@fua.utm.md


The students participate in various exchange study programs. They have the opportunity to study for six or ten months at universities in Europe or the United States of America. During the year students participate at conferences, seminars, international summer schools from Romania, Ukraine, Hungary, Poland, Spain, Norway, China etc. Until recently, Master’s Degree students and PhD candidates were able to achieve double diplomas at universities from Spain or Portugal via the project RETHINK (funded by the EU Tempus Programme)

The teaching staff and students of the faculty participate at national and international exhibitions and symposiums. Since 2002, the faculty organizes every two years, an International Technical Scientific Conference on “Current problems of urban planning and landscape design.”

The faculty graduates are employed in different companies and businesses in the Republic of Moldova and abroad. The Faculty has signed cooperation agreements with enterprises of the Ministry of Regional Development and Construction and the Ministry of Transport and Road Infrastructure Agency Moldova’s Waters, AO Moldovagaz, Apa-Canal AO, AO Lafarge Ciment Moldova etc.

The faculty includes:

1. Department of Heat, Water, Gas Supply and Environmental Protection

2. Department of Architecture

3. Department of Roads, Construction Materials and Machinery

4. Department of Urban Planning and Design

5. Computing Centre

6. Library

7. School of Design

8. Centre for Professional Development Education

The faculty is equipped with laboratories and workshops with modern teaching and research facilities.

Study programmes

The faculty has six areas of professional training:

  • Plastic arts
  • Mechanical engineering
  • Technology of Materials
  • Architecture and Urban Planning
  • Construction and Civil Engineering
  • Environmental Engineering

 Examples of International Relations

  • The Department of Heat, Water and Gas Supply and Environmental Protection signed a collaboration agreement with the Association of ENERGY SAVING INTERNATIONAL AS (ENSI) from Norway, which provides scientific-pedagogical and scientific cooperation in the field of energy audit of civil buildings.
  • The Department of Architecture signed a contract of cooperation in the scientific-technical domain (“Видеомоделирование в учебном архитектурном проектировании”, 2004) with the Institute of Architecture from Moscow (Russia).
  • The Department of Architecture – Fondazione Romualdo del Bianco of Contract, Florence (Italy).
  • The Department of Roads, Construction Equipment and Machines collaborates with the Research Institute for Construction Equipment and Technologies from Bucharest, Romania.

Examples of institutional research projects

  • Improved processes of potable surface water and groundwater 2008 – 2010. Within the project, a pilot water treatment plant for treating groundwater, was installed and mounted in the town of Nisporeni.
  • “Development of anaerobic-aerobic technology for biological treatment of wastewater to obtain and use biogas in reducing energy economy” 2010 – 2014.
  • Installations for removal of nitrogen and phosphorus compounds for advanced wastewater treatment of wastewater localities. (2006-2010).

Examples of participation in international projects

  • Reform of education through international knowledge exchange (RETHINKe). TEMPUS 544178-2013-PT-JPCR, with the participation of 18 universities from 10 countries.
  • Water Harmony – II (Harmony water-II). Eurasia Programme CPEALA-2015/10036 Water Harmony – Integration of Education, Research, Innovation and Entrepreneurship, with the participation of 10 universities from 7 countries.
  • The COMUS (“Community-Led Urban Strategies in Historic Towns”) project (2016), is a joint Council of Europe/European Union initiative that is part of the second Eastern Partnership Culture Programme. It seeks to stimulate social and economic development by enhancing cultural heritage in 9 historic towns in Armenia (Goris and Gyumri), Belarus, Georgia (Chiatura and Dusheti), the Republic of Moldova and Ukraine.
  • “Support to promote cultural heritage in the Republic of Moldova, through its preservation and protection” is a Twinning project, implemented by the Ministry of Education Culture and Research of the Republic of Moldova (MECR) in partnership with its EU counterpart – the Italian Ministry of Cultural Heritage, Activities and Tourism (MiBACT), (September 2017-September 2019).

Date: 30th March 2020 (Edited by Michael Remes, EFPC)

For H2020 and other EU funding opportunities, please contact Prof. Michael Remes

Email: michael.remes@adm.utm.md